Hi, how can we help you?

How am I alerted of records I need to remove?

For films you order upfront

If you order films upfront a-la-carte (licensed or purchased), these titles are locked in for the period of access you purchase them for.

We will be alerting you via email for any renewals on content that you subscribe to - if you elect to not renew the subscription to the film/s at point, you will have the information to delete the marc from your catalog.

Note - if you forgot to remove the marc record or are late in doing so, you need not worry about the impact on the user experience. For users - the link to the film will still work, but they will see a message that the title is not presently available and a form to complete if they would like to request the title from the library (this request will be automatically forwarded by email to the key contacts in your library). You can see more on this below.

For PDA/PPU films

For libraries activating our films via PDA (Patron Driven Acquisition) or PPU (Pay Per Use): 

  1. We rarely lose the rights to titles in our collection but will notify you if any titles become no longer available and if the records should be removed.
  2. We only remove titles twice per annum - on 30 June and 31 Dec - to ensure a streamlined process
  3. We will notify you one month in advance of these dates and provide a list and delete file for films to be removed
  4. The delete files for titles will be posted for you on your admin dashboard under the "Marc Records" section

Please note that the removal of a film from Kanopy does not impact any licenses or purchases you have made. I.e. if you have already licensed or purchased a film (either upfront or because it triggered on PDA), and the film is then removed from Kanopy's broader collection due to rights changes, this will not affect your license or purchase and you will maintain full access to the content for the period you had purchased it for. A film can only be removed from access if (1) you had not paid for (licensed or purchased) that film and (2) you have not elected to purchase the film at the point of notifying you of its pending removal.

What happens to links for films removed

It is not a problem if you fail to remove a record for film for which the license has expired – the URL link in the 856 never breaks and is always valid. If the license to the film has expired, the link will still work but instead of users accessing the film in "watch now mode", the film will be in "request now mode" and they will need to fill in their details to request access to the film (when a user submits a request form to watch a film, this is automatically sent from our system to your library to alert you).

This ultimately means that links in records never break and if you leave the record in your catalog after a film license has expired, the user will still be accessing the film page and be able to request access to it (effectively it switches access from being immediate access to library-mediated access).

Was this article helpful?
2 out of 2 found this helpful
Have more questions? Submit a request

Comments

Follow